Freak Rock, Arcadian Folk, and blue vinyl


What is Arcadian folk? These music categories come from the Meadowlands Festival Programme 2012 so it would be great if someone could enlighten me! I’m not a music journalist, so categorisation is sometimes confusing, but I know what I like. This is my second post on the Meadowlands Festival  (a bit delayed, sorry – I got busy with work!). Please see my previous post on the Nordic Giants – who were a brilliant surprise find at the festival. This post is about some of the other bands I saw and also one I wish I’d seen but was busy shepherding children around at the time.

Bands I managed to catch:

This is the Kit – singer Kate Stables and friends. This is one band I did know and was very keen to see, I loved their single ‘Earthquake‘ played on 6Music last year, and bought the album ‘Wriggle out the Restless‘ which was also brilliant. Kate has a beautiful voice and the band were seriously ‘together’ too. I had a chat with her afterwards and she came across as lovely and unaffected, just like her voice. I bought some gorgeous blue vinyl 45rpm of Earthquake with a b-side of Earthquake remixed by Buddy Peace. Kate said they were working on a new album at the moment, so I look forward to that.

Peppermint Beat Band – the programme says  “an exciting blend of rootsy folk rock and Psychedelia…Their propulsive grooves and Arcadian Folk are aligned to Toy, Fleet Foxes and Devendra Banhart” So, as I said, I need educating on what exactly Arcadian Folk is, but I liked what they did.

Also saw the Woo!worths, (with  the catchy Tiger, Tiger song – including actions), Mynie Moe (first time I’ve seen a band use a sousaphone), Apples and Eve (seen in Brighton a while back supporting Pokey LaFarge and the South City Three), the Ouse Valley Three. All excellent.

I’d like to have seen Pink Narcissus, some excellent punk-style performance – jumping off the stage, writhing around on the floor etc. This report is according to my partner who did get to see them, and had a chat with the lead singer (Oli Spleen) who gave him a freebie EP. Good stuff on there – loud and pretty feisty.

Lessons learned when going to a festival with children:

•  Bring ear defenders (available from DIY shops, army surplus stores, and  Action Against Hearing Loss.org.uk, ). This prevents kids from damaging their hearing and helps them to be able to cope with the sound volumes at a gig. The latter had a tent at the Green Man festival.

• Take disinfectant hand gel to avoid upset tummies.

• You need plenty of cash or the ability to say ‘no’ a lot – all those festival goody shops and braided hair-dos are so tempting for little ones!

• Don’t expect to be able to see even half the bands you intended to, all the way through, or at all!
Leave a Reply

