Tell me a tale… of Michael Kiwanuka


If you haven’t heard the soulful voice of Michael Kiwanuka yet, then maybe it’s time to check him out. In my last post (The Lives of Others) there’s a flyer for him on my notice board below the featured shopping list, so I thought I’d bring him to your attention just in case you’re missing out on this great singer/songwriter. I’d heard his first single Tell me a Tale played on 6Music and this was before he became more prominent in the music scene by being voted the BBC Sound of 2012 (an accolade previously given to Adele, Jesse J, and Ellie Goulding).The BBC Sound of… website says this: “Michael Kiwanuka is a British soul musician of Ugandan descent who is signed to Communion Records. He has been compared to Bill Withers and Otis Redding, as well as Van Morrison and the Temptations. In January 2012 he won the BBC’s Sound of 2012 poll.

Wales, August 2011  When we saw him on the smallest stage, The Pub Stage, at The Green Man Festival in August 2011 it was a gorgeously hot and sunny day, an event apparently fairly rare in this part of Wales. The word had obviously got round as the area was packed out, it was sunny, he was excellent, good memories all round. It was the best festival I’ve been to – brilliant music and lovely people, and all surrounded by the beautiful Brecon Beacons.

Brighton, November 2011  We were lucky to get tickets to see him again in Brighton at The Hope in November 2011. He was again, excellent, and after the gig, found him to be a lovely, unassuming and friendly person. The lighting on stage needs a bit of attention at The Hope, they seem to have the lights on the mid-body rather than the face. I don’t like using flash at gigs as I think it can spoil the enjoyment of the rest of the audience so all my shots are without flash, if sometimes this works out I suspect it’s mainly because of the Olympus Pen’s low-light abilities.

Michael Kiwanuka’s first album is out on 12 March 2012. His own website can be found here

STOP PRESS: Just found out from ENTS24 that he’ll be playing The Green Man Festival again this year – I wonder which stage they’ll put him on this time?

2 thoughts on “Tell me a tale… of Michael Kiwanuka

  1. Great post, Just spotified him, he has got a great voice hoping he can break the spell of me listening to This Mortal Coil every hour of the day 🙂 . Talking of concerts 😉 going to join the phone frenzy on Thursday for Elbow at Jodrell Bank.. can you ever imagine a better back drop to a stage than Jodrell Bank.

    1. I’ve only got one This Mortal Coil CD – but it may help if you read my post on 6Music – there’s a station that you can listen to for quite some time without getting too annoyed by the DJs or their choice of music. I haven’t ever been to Jodrell Bank but I’ve just Googled it and I see huge and amazing satellite dishes – wow! Thanks for drawing my attention to it – I do like a bit of Astrophysics!Good luck with getting tickets.

Leave a Reply

